Version 25.1 Product Release

Important Notice for Current Modeler H2 Database Users:

If you use H2 databases in Modeler, you will see an H2 Database Warning dialog in Modeler when you Browse to an H2 Database and try to Connect, or for existing H2 configurations, when you update or push data. The warning is to alert H2 database users that Quantrix will be deprecating the built-in H2 database due to security vulnerabilities.

The warning appears once during a given Quantrix session, and will show again in subsequent Quantrix sessions unless you select “Don’t show this warning again” in the warning dialog.

The warning explains that the current H2 database cannot be automatically upgraded and users can download a more modern, secure H2 database version when the driver is removed, or use another database type.

Improvements in Modeler Version 25.1.0

Data Import is improved with a powerful new feature that allows you to drag and drop the import Item category to another import matrix that may have a different data source, to create a linked category, or, if the matrix already has an Item category, to replace it with the dragged category.

If you create a linked category by dragging an Item category to another import matrix, it will attempt to match the items in the category to fields in the data source for that matrix to create the data items. Only cells in those data items will be updated if you update the data import for the matrix. If you change the summarization type for a field in one import matrix your summarization selection does not affect the selected summarization type in the other import matrix if it uses a different data source; similarly, a query on one import matrix does not affect queries in the other import matrix.

You can also create a linked category to a non-data import matrix if desired. If there are no data items for an item category the icon on the category appears orange as opposed to green. Note: A data item category cannot be dropped (or replaced) on a matrix with a hidden item category.

Data Import is improved and provided you have permissions and the appropriate data, you can do the following:

Connect existing user items to fields in a connected Data Import source matrix using the context menu option Assign Field to Item. When you choose this option, a dialog displays in which you can select the field to connect from the current data source. Once connected, the field becomes a data item rather than a user item.

Disconnect a field that has been assigned to an item using the context menu option Disconnect Data Field, which changes the data item to a user item.

Modeler’s Java 11 is updated to the current version of Corretto, 11.0.25.9.1, on both Windows and Mac (amd, aarch).

Calculation is faster in heavily recursive models when using Range based or Multi-threaded calculation strategies.

Opening views that have a large number of rows with a large number of values selected in a filter should be significantly faster in Modeler and Qloud.

When a model is using dates, if there are numbers formatted as dates in the cell selection the user can use Data > Convert to Dates to convert the selected cells to date values in the current time zone.

This feature may be useful to finish an automatic upgrade to UTC dates that produced warnings when you want to convert all date formatted numbers to dates. Note that the Data menu option won’t be available unless the user has permissions to set cell values on the matrix.

If a user with a model containing legacy dates runs automatic upgrade to UTC dates, the Date Conversion warning message now indicates that the Data menu option Convert to Dates can be used to finish converting the matrices to dates as described above. See also the Date Time Type, Date Conversion & UTC topic overview.

Below are three Chart-related scripting improvements:

Scripting is improved with the addition of new read-only properties for the ChartCanvasObject that allow you to read or move categories the way you can in charts: the ChartCanvasObject  seriesTrayCategories and pointTrayCategories properties work just like the ones in Chart, and allow reading or moving categories. These new properties show in the scripting autocomplete help and in https://quantrix.com/help/scripting. Please see the Scripting Examples help topic for examples.

Scripting is improved with the ability to select a chart legend item and list, set or query the formatting properties. The two new properties are legendItems and selectedLegendItems (on Model). These new properties show in the scripting autocomplete help and in https://quantrix.com/help/scripting. Please see the Scripting Examples help topic for details.

In Scripting, making a chart series selection in a legend (as opposed to in the chart itself) for the properties selectedCanvasObject and MatrixChartOrTableView now returns the legend and the chart canvas object respectively in Layout or Interaction mode.

Scripting is improved with the addition of a new property in all charts called chartAxes that you can reference by name or index, and each chart axis exposes a minimum, maximum, and origin. The latter can be numbers (double-precision floating points) or the string “Auto” to indicate that you are not overriding the default automatic calculation behavior.  These new properties show in the scripting autocomplete help and in https://quantrix.com/help/scripting. Please see the Scripting Examples help topic for details.

When running a script with the audit trail on, audit trail entries created by the script are now structured in a condensed format for readability (with the sub-entries collapsed) and you can easily expand and collapse the audit trail sections for the scripted actions by clicking a plus sign or minus sign.  Undo and Redo of the scripted action are structured similarly in the audit trail with respect to the expanded/collapsed audit entries.

Scripting is improved with the addition of scripting methods to open and close specific toolpanes in Modeler, without regard to permissions. The scripting methods are openToolpane(String) and closeToolpane(String) and the toolpanes available to the methods are:

Model Browser, Format Toolbox, Dependency Inspector, Script Manager, Scripting Console, Advanced Find, Problems, Functions, Solver

For example, openToolpane (“Model Browser”), closeToolpane (“Format Toolbox”)
As noted in the autocomplete help, these scripting methods do not work on Qloud.

Please see the Scripting Examples help topic for more.

A new scripting option, exportFormattedNumbers() is available when exporting using Delimited Text that allows you to use formatted values when exporting from Modeler and Qloud.

A new scripting property, hidden, lets a user query on Items that are hidden due to cell filters, item filters, hide empty rows or columns, summarization, or collapse on all view types (matrix, chart, table, views on canvas), in Modeler and Qloud. Note that if some instances of this item are hidden and others are not, the default is the first instance. This will return false if a cell filter is applied but ignored. Please see Scripting Examples help topic for more.

Audit trail entries are more descriptive, and include greater detail with clarifying punctuation.

Specifically, the Audit Trail now includes the following:

Category and Matrix are named for Insert and Remove Item
Formula text is added to Insert and Remove formula
Link category notes the matrix to which it was linked
The name of the object that changed is indicated (both from and to)
The matrix name and pasted values are added for a paste
Cell references use the syntax matrixname::range.. range

An example of an audit trail entry that now identifies the name of the component: rather than stating “Inserted Item A2”, it now says “Inserted Item ‘A2‘ in category ‘A‘ affecting matrices: ‘Planets’, ‘Stars’.” See also Using the Audit Trail.

The Format Toolbox has two new options for chart properties that, when used together, allow you to mimic a Mekko chart for certain chart types. Format Toolbox > Chart Axis has the Invert Axis option, which allows you to reverse the order of charts with numeric axes that you have selected. Invert Axis applies to all chart types with one or more selected numeric axes.

Format Toolbar > Chart > Hide axes shows for any “Category plot” chart types (Bar, Box/Whisker, Combination Chart, Stacked Bar, or Statistical Bar). Hiding the axes allows bars or error lines to draw all the way to the edge of the cell(s) and removes spacing around the bars (both chart margins and lower and upper axis margins).

If you use both options in a chart, select Invert Axis before you select Hide Axes (if you select Hide Axes first, you won’t be able to select Invert Axes because you won’t be able to select the axes).

Canvas charts have been improved regarding rendering of chart canvas legends when you select series either in the legend itself or in the chart: Selections are now rendered in the chart canvas legend just as they are in standalone chart views, and show the selected background for the series.

Integral with these improvements to canvas chart legend behaviors, changes include:

You cannot multi-select across chart legends: canvas chart legend selections affect only the selected chart legend and do not track series or legend selections from other charts whether they contain the same or different data.

When you click away from a legend or series selection you’ve made to make another selection in a canvas, the existing selections are cleared.

An improvement in chart layouts is that in both existing and legacy models, for both standalone charts and canvas chart legends, canvas legend items now render down and to the left by two pixels, and short chart legends on canvases no longer render with extra space before the first item.

You can now show or hide all canvas toolbars in a model, on a per model basis, using the View menu option or a script.  Use the View menu > Canvas Toolbars to change the setting for showing or hiding all canvas toolbars in the model. Note that your selection affects only the currently open model, and you can change it at any time.

Two new script methods are available for the Model (in Modeler only): showCanvasToolbars() and hideCanvasToolbars(). These behave identically to the menu item.  The following are details of the show/hide option:

When canvas toolbars are hidden, the hidden attribute applies to all canvas toolbars in the model (including those for canvases that were created when the checkbox was unselected).

Hiding canvas toolbars puts all canvases in the model into interaction mode until the toolbars are shown again.

Showing the toolbars always puts canvases back into whatever interaction mode they were in when hidden.

The Show/Hide setting is saved with the model and does not affect other models.

Undo does not work on showing or hiding canvas toolbars.

Changing the Show/Hide setting does not mark the model as changed, even though the setting will be saved with the model.

Modeler’s support for HTML in cells is improved regarding HTML that renders hyperlinks and images, and Modeler now renders similarly to Qloud. See details in the Webhelp’s Entering Images and Hyperlinks in Cells, specifically: Using Hyperlinks in Matrix Cells, and in Using Images in Matrix Cells.

Cells with images that have been improved are those whose HTML contains spaces; or contain multiple image tags; or have no trailing html tag; or have a width attribute only; or have both width and height attributes. The Webhelp topic includes examples of the HTML text and the resulting rendered images.

Formula and script related keyboard shortcuts have been added for German keyboards for Windows and Mac.

To find out more, you can read the full Modeler release notes here:

https://quantrix.com/help/modeler/Current_Release_Notes_Modeler.htm

Improvements in Enterprise Qloud 25.1.0

Java 11 is upgraded to the latest Corretto version: 11.0.25.9.1.

Support for HTML in cells is improved regarding HTML that renders hyperlinks and images. Cells with images that have been improved are those whose HTML contains spaces; or contain multiple image tags; or have no trailing html tag; or have a width attribute only; or have both width and height attributes. For details and rules about the improvements, please see the Modeler Webhelp topic Entering Images and Hyperlinks in Cells, specifically: Using Hyperlinks in Matrix Cells, and Using Images in Matrix Cells.

As a safety precaution, constraints have been added to the Admin account to ensure the Admin account cannot be accidentally deleted. If an Admin user tries to delete itself, a message explains that it cannot be deleted; if an Admin User tries to remove the Admin flag from their account, a message explains that it cannot be changed. For Qlouds that have a built-in Qloud Operator account, that account also cannot be changed or deleted.

With an Item selected there is a new right-click context menu item to “Insert Items”. In addition to the related existing context menu items, i.e. inserting an item “before” and inserting an item “after” the selected item, a user with permissions can use the new Insert Items to enter a number of items, and the items are inserted after the selected item. Undo and Redo are available. Your Qloud server may impose a customizable limit to the number of items you can add. If you try to insert a number of items that is greater than the limit permitted by the Qloud server, an explanatory message displays.  See the Webhelp for more.

To easily select all cells in a matrix table or a table on a canvas, select a cell or an item and use CTRL-A on windows, or CMD-A on Mac to select all cells. If the view does not include the first cell (0,0), the table scrolls to show the first cell when you use CTRL-A or CMD-A.

Scrolling behavior is improved when the Mac is set to the default scrolling behavior in the Mac Settings to Show Scrollbars “When Scrolling” on matrix views, chart grids, and canvas table views: scrollbars appear over the cells of the matrix when the user moves the mouse wheel or scrolls on the trackpad.

You can read the complete Qloud release notes here:

https://quantrix.com/help/qloud/Current_Release_Notes_Qld.htm

About Quantrix

Quantrix helps businesses modernize their finance and operational practices, increase efficiency and transform their operations by providing a platform that improves throughput, analytics, traceability and sharing of critical business data and insight.

For any technical questions, please feel free to contact support@quantrix.com. General questions and inquiries can be sent to customerservice@quantrix.com.

Users can also access the Quantrix Help page here.

Thank you for your support of Quantrix!