Qloud Roles and Permissions

A given role is made up of a group of permissions, and different roles contain a different combination of permissions. You create, copy and delete roles from the Quantrix Modeler Security menu (Security > Manage Roles). You assign each different role a different set of permissions.

You can set Qloud permissions for a model from the Quantrix Modeler Security menu (Security > Permissions) or, when you publish the model, within Quantrix Modeler's Qloud Publish Wizard. (See the permissions information in Publishing to the Qloud) When you publish a model to the Qloud, a Viewer role is assigned by default, and you can assign any other role if desired.

Below is an image of a new, empty model and the Permissions a Viewer and User have by default:

Viewer

User

Permissions that you can set for Qloud users are shown in blue text, and have a blue Qloud icon. The permissions in blue text are not Qloud-specific: they can be set for Qloud and non-Qloud models.

The permissions that can be set for Qloud models may change over time. For a description of what the permissions effect, please see the Permissions topic.

Viewer Users

Viewer Role Access

You can share Qloud models with view-only access in two ways:

Viewer role users can view the matrices, table views, chart views and canvases to which you have given them permissions, and they can move category tiles and make selections from filter trays. Viewer role users cannot save, or change the structure or data of a model that has been shared.  

Note that if the Viewer role permissions have been changed from the default viewer permissions, the Viewer role may become  interactive rather than view-only.

View Only Access for Models Published prior to 5.1

Note: If you have a model on the Qloud that was published with a version prior to Quantrix Modeler 5.1: the model can be shared, but only in View Only mode from the sharing page, regardless of permissions/roles assigned, until you republish the model with 5.1 or later. When you republish, you must select "Publish to a new file on the server" in the publish dialog, and assign an interactive role. Please see the republish instructions for more details.

For a model that was published in a version prior to 5.1, the Add Users role that is available is called View Only and it looks like this:

If you hover over the question mark, it explains:

 

Qloud Viewer Role for 5.0-Published Models After Updating to 5.1

If you have updated from Quantrix Modeler 5.0 to 5.1, a 5.0 model that was republished from 5.1 is given a Qloud Viewer role to preserve the specific role permissions that were assigned in 5.0.

As shown in the image above, the Viewer role differs from the Qloud Viewer role. The default permissions for the Viewer role includes Allow Presentation Interactions, whereas the Qloud Viewer role contains the permissions as they were in 5.0.

Viewer Role Note

If you use the Viewer role, you must ensure that the Viewer role within Quantrix Modeler includes the Qloud permissions to open whatever components you want the Qloud user to see. If a Viewer role has no permissions for any components within Allow Interaction > Open Components and you publish and share the model with a Viewer role on the Qloud, the Viewer user won't be able to open or see any of the model.

Remember that models you make Public default to the Viewer role for users who view them using the public URL.

Users with Edit Access

The ability to share models on the Qloud with users to whom you give a role with edit permissions (an "edit user", or interactive user) requires only that you send an invitation to the user and that the user sign up for the Qloud:

Notes: If a role has been assigned a password within Quantrix Modeler > Security > Roles, the password for that role will be required on the Qloud:

Enter the password and click OK.

The Quantrix Qloud is covered by the Quantrix EULA. As such, your use of the Qloud indemnifies Quantrix of any liabilities or loss.  While security measures are in place, we cannot guarantee the confidentiality of any files you publish to the Qloud.

See Also

Perspectives on the Qloud