Template Formula Changes & Merges

Provided Templates is enabled in your Enterprise installation, template owners can merge formula changes to model template copies as described below.

As a template model owner, you can change a formula in Modeler and republish the model.

You may want the users of any template copies to have the formula changes reflected in the matrices.  Formula View/Merge Changes allows you to merge formula changes from the (republished) template to the template copies on Qloud. You control which changes to merge, and the merged changes are automatically sent to the template model copies.

To use templates > View/Merge Changes, assuming you have made and published changes to formulas:

  • Click Details next to the template model you want to work with on the Templates page

  • From Details, click the View/Merge Changes icon

  • The Changes/Merges page displays, showing any change versions along the left side of the page. When you click on a version, the details of the formula changes display on the right.

Changes Page
  • Click on a version to see each formula line that was changed in that version but has not yet been merged.

  • If there are no changes to merge, a message says "No changes to merge".

  • Note that only versions created by checking out the template are shown, and versions that have already been merged are not shown.

  • Versions are listed on the left side of the page, with the most recent formula change version that has not already been merged at the top. If there are multiple changes, the changes are shown sorted by version, then by matrix name, then by formula number within the matrix.

  • The Versions show in descending order from most current, on the left side, and the individual formula changes display in ascending order that the formula edits were made.  

  • The formula changes pane for a version lists Matrix name, Formula line,  Operation (Add, Remove, Move, Change), and Result (the Result column shows the formula content for Add and Remove, and otherwise shows Change or Move)

  • When you select a formula version a blue check mark indicates that it is selected.

  • Once you've selected a formula version, a Merge changes to copies button at the bottom displays. Click it to merge the selected formula version changes to template model copies.

  • If there are multiple versions that have not been merged, the selected version contains the changes in the prior versions and will, if selected and merged, include all changes from prior versions.

  • If you click the Merge changes to copies button with the most recent version selected, all unmerged versions are merged.

Merge Page

The image below shows the Merges page after clicking the Merge button.

The Merges page shows the detail for the selected merged version.  If successfully merged models are shown, they represent model copies created from the merge. The model copies were automatically created in the models list of the users who were selected by the template owner to receive copies from the template user, and at merge time, the data in those models are updated with the formula merge results.

Notes:

  • Click a merged version to see the status of the merge, as well as a list of successfully merged models. Potential merge statuses include Success, In Progress, Pending or Failed. Click the filter icon to filter by status.
  • A merge might be Pending if the model was locked, in which case a lock icon will show next to the model name: if and when the merge can be completed, the status changes to Success.
  • A merge might be Pending if there are multiple models to be merged, and the Qloud server hasn't gotten to one or more models yet.
  • A merge might be Pending due to a previous failed merge: in this scenario, you can hover over a tooltip on the Pending merge to see which merge needs to be completed to permit the current merge to continue.
  • A merge might fail if formula changes to the template would cause an error in the template copy. A merge might also fail in a scenario where the formula being merged from the template conflicts with a change that was made in a template copy. A failure may occur if there is a problem saving model changes to disk.

  • Failed merges can be handled by either marking them as resolved, which means the merge changes are not made but the merge status changes to success, or by forcing the changes to be made irrespective of conflicting data. Before using these options, be sure you understand what the ramifications are.

A model with a failed merge shows a Details link that shows the errors for the model.

  • Next to the Details link is a Mark Resolved link and a Force Changes link.  
  • Mark Resolved marks the model as successfully merged without applying any changes.
  • Force Changes retries the merge, and disregards any errors created by the formula changes as well as any conflicting changes in the child model.

Notes:

  • To control which merge statuses display, use the Status buttons to toggle on and off the display of models that match the selected status.
  • Formula changes are shown in the Changes page. If you click to Merge changes to copies, and no copies have been made, the Merges page will be blank and will say "No changes merged to copies".
  • Quantrix Modeler will show a tag in the Check Out dialog that says "Template copy merge" until the next check out of the template model.

On the home page, as the template owner, you can click Details and then the View Copies icon for the template, and verify that the copies contain the merged version as indicated in the values.

Do this on the View Copies page by clicking Details next to the copy or copies, and look for a merge status:

 

Failed Merge Example

In this particular failed merge, the failed merge is due to a conflict between a formula line in the template model, and the same formula line in a model copy made from the template.

When there is a conflict with a model copy, the models page on which model copy is shown has an icon with hover text telling you there was an error merging:

 

 

Using Automation