Editing a Qloud Model

Editing a model on the Qloud is similar, though not identical, to editing it within Quantrix Modeler.

The Save, Lock and Undo behaviors described below may differ for Enterprise Qloud depending on how your Enterprise installation is configured. For example, Enterprise Qloud uses a Tag icon to effect a save. See below for Public Qloud notes on Saving.

Enterprise Notes

Provided your installation has auto-save on, the system auto-saves all edits when a model is open, at a pre-configured interval whose default save interval is every 10 seconds; if auto-save is off, the model is saved when it is closed.

The default number of undo's can be changed by an administrator.

Enterprise Qloud uses a Version Tag icon for model owners and users who have edit and save model permission. Users without edit and save model permissions do not see the Tag icon.

Users who see the Version Tag icon can save a version of the model even while others are in the model, and can give the Version Tag both a Version Name and a comment. The model is locked during Version Tag save.

The Version Name you enter in the Tag dialog shows in the Modeler Check Out Tag column. Both the Version Name and the Comment show when you display Versions from the models list in Qloud.

Provided auto-save is on, if an operation takes longer than 4 seconds to complete, Qloud displays an informative banner for other users who are in the model.

Provided multi-user editing is turned on, other users can edit a model that is open and being edited on Qloud.

A lock icon shows when the model is checked out from Qloud, and during a Version Tag. A model that is being edited on Qloud is locked and can't be checked out.

Note that the Qloud versions dialog shows Modeler Publishes, Modeler Check-in date/time stamps, and manual tags made on Qloud (with the tag name and date/time stamp).

The Modeler Check Out dialog shows Qloud saves in the Last Saved column, and it notes Publishes and Tags in the Tag column.

Users who are the most current model editor in a model that has multiple users/editors can undo/redo their own edits.

Notes:

  • The options that are enabled on the toolbar once you make a selection in the component match your role's permissions.

  • There is a default undo/redo of 5. Undo and redo work whether changes have been saved or not since you opened the model on Qloud.

  • To cancel a cell edit and revert to the previous value (while you are still in the cell), click Esc. If you have already left the cell, click Undo on the toolbar.

  • To remove data from a cell that can be edited, select it and press the delete key.

  • As is true within Modeler, if you click in a cell and press the spacebar, a space character is entered in the cell.

  • Cell entry: Qloud's Auto-size data entry is similar to Modeler's. If Modeler's Matrix preferences allow Auto-size, you can enter values or text in a cell that exceeds the cell/column width, and the cell width automatically widens to fit the data when you click Enter. You can double-click the column header border to force a resize if the Auto-size setting is off. Note that if the column/cell width has been manually set, you must double-click the column header border to override the manually resized setting, and that will resize the column to allow your cell entries to fit (to be visible).

  • Word Wrap: Word Wrap cannot be added or removed by a Qloud user, but Qloud reflects the word-wrapped state where it exists, in cells, groups, items, and item descriptors, and regarding cell heights (see Modeler help for Word Wrap details). Word-wrapped text may show slightly differently on Qloud vs. Modeler due to font rendering differences, and due to how various browsers choose to display various fonts. For example, the web may wrap one letter earlier or later on each line than Modeler.  Word Wrapped data prints to PDF appropriately and reflects word-wrapped content. 

  • If cell or item selections appear to stop working, or if a model or its status doesn't appear as you think it should, simply refresh your model in the browser. You can refresh by clicking the Qloud Refresh icon on the Models page, or by using your browser's refresh command (such as F5).

 

Cell & Item Copy, Paste, Cut

Notes

Constrained Input

Filter Trays, Canvases, Add/Delete Items, Undo/Redo

 

Public Qloud & Saving Changes

There are two possible save scenarios in Public Qloud:

1. If you change or add a value to a matrix on the Qloud, or do anything that constitutes a change to the model, the Save icon becomes enabled:

 

Note: As soon as you click the Save icon your changes are saved to the server.  When you click the Save icon you are prompted to optionally enter a comment about the changes. You can enter a comment or not, and you can click Save to save the changes, or you can click Don't Save if you don't want to save the changes you made.

 

Any comment you enter in the Save dialog shows in the Versions dialog. The Versions dialog shows comments that were entered during Publish, or in the Save dialog:

 

2. If you make a change to a model on the Qloud, and click the Home icon, you see the following dialog:

  • Enter a comment if you want to, and click Save to save the changes you made and return to the Models list  

  • Click Don't Save to return to the Models list without saving the changes 

  • Click Cancel to return to the model

On Public Qloud, provided you have edit permissions and the model is not locked for editing by another user or process, you can make an edit to a cell and a lock icon displays on the model toolbar.

Per the hover text, click the lock icon to release the lock and make the model available for editing:

  • (Public) You are prompted to save your changes if you click on the lock to release it

  • (Public) If you choose "Don't Save" in response to the prompt to save your changes, a message explains that the model will be refreshed because changes are being reverted

  • Cancel returns you to the model

Cell & Item Copy, Paste, Cut